RGG’s Saturday Shout-out #3 — One-F-Jef

Channel name: jefmajor
Subscriber amount: 61 908 (as of September 8th 2013, 00:21)

Jefmajor, oftentimes referred to, by himself and his community, as “One-F-Jef”. I guess that’s because his name is spelled out “Jef”, as opposed to “Two-F-Jef” “Jeff”. Just like BikdipOnABus, he is an ordinary Let’s Player. This time, however, I do mean “ordinary”. He is a lot more into the games than BikdipOnABus, though that’s not necessarily what tips the scale in Let’s Player judging. Where BikdipOnABus fails to be hysterically “stoic” in his videos, Jef takes on a more enthusiastic role. He plays a variety of games with passion, or at least what looks like it. He puts a lot of work into his Let’s Plays, and doesn’t stray off course in his videos, id est: he doesn’t go off-topic. It seems some of the more popular Let’s Players have an issue with this. I know I said that as though I knew what the hell I was talking about – which I don’t – but I still remember NintendoCapriSun or whatever blabbering on about how a good Let’s Play is made up of this nonsensical off-topic bullshit. I will obviously end up standing corrected on this, but I personally think a good Let’s Play is based off focusing on the game itself and not straying off course. Anyway, I should take my own advice: let’s go back on-topic. Jefmajor has a large variety of Let’s Plays: Kerbal Space Program, Silent Storm (Sentinels), Black & White, and Bridge It!, just to name a few. If I had to choose between any of these, I’d choose Black & White for humor, whereas Silent Storm: Sentinels would be my main source of casual entertainment. I would also like to note that Stranded II was the first Let’s Play of his I watched. I just thought I’d toss that out there. Oh, yeah, and there’s also the fact that he’s the one who made me download Dwarf Fortress and learn the basics of that game. Well, at least the Adventure Mode of it; I didn’t care at all for Fortress Mode, or whatever, and I still don’t. Also, Prospector. A very little-known game. I also got Anno 2070 thanks to this cheeky bastard. Oh well. I still watch his LPs from time to time, although his most recent are, to myself personally, really just a load of shit. Except for Prison Architect. That one’s actually good. Miner Wars 2081 is also kinda cool. Wait, what am I even talking about? Holy shit, just go to his channel and check him out, subscriber, whatever! Don’t listen to me and my oral diarrhea!

Leave a Reply

