I am completely stumped……

Today, I figured I might as well work with my language. I added a few nouns to the list, but then I stopped. Why did I stop? Tune in next time on RGG’s Radio Mysteries for the conclusion of today’s CREEEEEEPY STORRRYYYYY….. Not really. I actually stopped because I have lost the will to continue the language development. When, or if, I finish the list, what will I do with it? How long will it take to develop the adjectives dictionary? How long will it take to create sub-clauses? Preposistions? How do I create question-clauses? What about adverbs? I can’t copy Latin directly! You see, Latin has been my main inspiratory language for the creation of Rygusmul, but I don’t see why I couldn’t create my own grammar. However, the problem is that I don’t know how. I see only Latin in my language, Rygusmul.

My next idea is to find out more about grammar and how it works. I’m really at a loss, stumped, perplexed… How do I develop this language any further? Should I stop developing it and begin on a new language completely from scratch? I have kept myself puzzled over this for days now. Should I study agglutinative languages? That is, languages like Turkish. However, if I want to do that, I must either learn more about agglutinative languages, or spend a decade or two trying to develop some sort of algorithm for sentence structuring of my potential “agglutinative language”. It would make the language sound, and look, more professional, or rather original and seamless.

Again, I don’t know what to do. I have no clue. At all. I just know that I will try to figure out what to do. This is one of the main reasons I have not worked on the language, as well as one of the reasons I have posted so few blog entries regarding Rygusmul.

I’m just completely stumped!

3 comments on “I am completely stumped……

  1. eleniaturner says:

    I know that feeling. I’m on the very first steps of creating my conlang, and I’ve been on this step for almost two months. There’s so much choice, and so many decisions to be made – and I have to make them?! But the only thing to do is keep pushing on, otherwise every other language I make, when I reach this roadblock, I’ll stop again.

    Whatever choice you make, just make sure it’s right for your language. And if you spend hours and days and weeks researching agglutinative languages only to decide you don’t really want to do that, at least the knowledge will be there for your next conlang. (Or, alternatively, to throw out at any given opportunity – whichever works).

    Good luck!

  2. Valosken says:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morphosyntactic_alignment
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grammatical_tense

    Look at the lists of links at the side of those. That will give you a good base.

    • rudeguygames says:

      I know what tenses are, and I refuse to read about “Morphosyntactic alignment” on Wikipedia. It’s at a much higher level than I will ever be able to reach.

Leave a Reply

